

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

Subject: Australian Citizenship Day Celebration

Contact: Michael Sedgman

Chief Executive Officer

08 8539 1174

m.sedgman@murraybridge.sa.gov.au

Date: 6 September 2019

## Local Government Centre

2 Seventh Street (PO Box 421) Murray Bridge SA 5253

T 08 8539 1100

F 08 8532 2766

council@murraybridge.sa.gov.au www.murraybridge.sa.gov.au

ABN 90 501 266 817

A CELEBRATION to welcome new Australians will be held in Murray Bridge next week in honour of Australian Citizenship Day.

Almost 50 residents will make their citizenship pledge at the Murray Bridge Town Hall on Tuesday 17 September 2019.

Mayor Brenton Lewis said more people than ever were now choosing to live and work in Murray Bridge and becoming naturalised as an Australian citizen was an event worth celebrating.

"The unique lifestyle and opportunities available here are attracting new residents from around the world to join our community and call Murray Bridge home," he said.

"Australian Citizenship Day is an opportunity for all Australian citizens, whether by birth or by choice, to reflect on the meaning and importance of their citizenship.

"The day is used as an opportunity to think about what unites all Australians, to take pride in Australia's democratic values and to celebrate the role citizens play in shaping the nation."

Harley Hall from the Ngarrindjeri Regional Authority will conduct the Welcome to County at the citizenship celebration and guest speaker from the Australia Day Council of SA, Major General Vikram Madan will share his migration story from India.

The Rural City of Murray Bridge welcomed 61 new citizens in 2017, 54 in 2018, and is on track to surpass those numbers this year with 52 new citizens processed already – not including those yet to take the pledge at the planned celebration.

Statistics show a growing sector of citizens of Pilipino origin in Murray Bridge.

Applicants making their pledge in Murray Bridge on Australian Citizenship Day come from 12 different countries: Philippines, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Taiwan, India, United Kingdom, South Africa, Cambodia, China, Bangladesh, Indonesia and Vietnam.

All citizenship enquiries should be directed to the Department of Home Affairs at <a href="https://immi.homeaffairs.gov.au/">https://immi.homeaffairs.gov.au/</a>